the convictionEmail IconNewsletter Sign Up
JUST RELEASED - The Conviction

In this gripping, high-octane legal thriller by critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Robert Dugoni, a father steps outside the law and does whatever it takes to save his son, trapped in a juvenile detention center from hell.

Lawyer David Sloane is desperate to get through to his troubled teenaged son Jake. Still reeling from the devastating loss of his mother in a brutal murder, Jake has spiraled out of control and Sloane has barely been able to keep him out of jail. So when his old friend, detective Tom Molia, suggests that Sloane and Jake join him and his son TJ on a camping trip, Sloane gratefully accepts. What Sloane imagines will be the perfect excursion to spend quality time with his son out of harm's way, turns into a horrifying nightmare when Jake and TJ are caught vandalizing a general store late at night and sentenced by the presiding judge to six months in the county-owned wilderness detention camp, Fresh Start.

As Sloane fights the conviction against the boys, he discovers that local judge Earl Boykin's authority seems to extend far beyond the confines of his courtroom. Meanwhile, Jake and TJ find that the detention center has a very different purpose than rehabilitating troubled youths. With their legal options exhausted and their boys lives on the line, Sloane and Molia hatch an unlikely rescue operation to save the teens.



facebookTwitter

Book Reviews
One of the best legal thriller writers in the business unleashes another stellar effort with 'The Conviction.'

Lawyer David Sloane never loses. His approach and commitment to his cases have consistently delivered positive results for his clients. But his job has caused a rift in his family and now his son, Jake, is in trouble. Jake blames his father for the death of his mother, and the teen begins to act out through alcoholic binges and petty crimes. Sloane tries to help, but Jake seems to be a lost cause.

Sloane takes Jake on a camping trip, hoping to heal their relationship. That night, Jake and another boy are caught vandalizing a store. The judge overseeing their case orders them to spend six months in a boot camp. Sloane arrives in the courtroom after the sentencing. It's too late to say goodbye to his son.

The horror is just beginning, not only for Sloane but also for Jake. The detention center has its own set of rules, and some of the boys who don't fit in end up dead.

"The Conviction" not only examines the dynamics of the father-son relationship, but also the pros and cons of privatization of the justice system. While Jake suffers the harsh reality of a facility worse than a federal penitentiary, Sloane discovers he cannot win.

The names John Grisham and Scott Turow are mentioned when discussing the legal thriller genre. Robert Dugoni is as good, if not better."

-- JEFF AYERS, For The Associated Press, June 11, 2012



"Peopled with the usual contingent of sadists and victims, the plot's fuse starts burning. Lawyer Sloane, Detective Molia and a posse of trusty associates skilled in the latest morally dubious investigative methods uncover a startling conspiracy. Unlike revenge, justice seems to be a dish best served warm, and pursuit is hot. A book that... exceeds, the expectations of the legal thriller."
-- Kirkus, May 2012


"Dugoni is at his best in the action scenes, which are the foundation of his narrative. Fans of John Grisham and Scott Turow will be pleased with this offering."
-- Nancy McNicol, Hamden P.L., CT
Library Journal, May 2012


"Dugoni makes you feel like you are reading Cool Hand Luke. As with Dugoni's other books, this is one where you sit on the edge of your chair and can't wait to turn the next page."
-- Clay Norton,
The Book Chamber


"An ending more powerful than that of any other legal thriller, an author who delivers justice in his own unique way and one lawyer and one detective who fought hard and hoped to overturn The Conviction."
-- Fran Lewis,
Talk show host of Focus Discussions


"Dugoni will have you on the edge of your seat in an unstoppable force of energy that makes sure you can' put the book down once you start."
-- Mark Sadler
Damned Insatiable


"The Conviction is a taut, riveting Tilt-A-Wheel ride that builds to a white-knuckle climax for readers. Dugoni is fully in command of his craft and does not disappoint. This book makes a compelling case that Robert Dugoni deserves a place atop the bestseller throne. All hail the new king of legal thrillers!"
-- R L Pace,
themiddleofage.blogspot.com


"The Conviction, due out June 12th from Touchstone, is a taut, riveting Tilt-A-Wheel ride that builds to a white-knuckle climax for readers. Dugoni is fully in command of his craft and does not disappoint. This book makes a compelling case that Robert Dugoni deserves a place atop the bestseller throne. All hail the new King of legal thrillers!"
-- Robert Pace, The Blogspot.com

"Just finished Conviction, It was GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can't wait to sell it to all our friends at Peerless Book Store!"
-- George Scott, Peerless Bookstore
Duluth, Georgia

"Dugoni should be cloned. His books are surefire page turners."
-- Miami Examiner

"Dugoni just gets better and better, and I can't wait to see what David Sloan will face next time."
-- Fiction Addiction

"Dugoni is the undisputed king of the legal thriller."
-- Providence Journal

"Dugoni's following fast in John Grisham s footsteps."
- Seattle City Arts Magazine

® Robert Dugoni | All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy